Brower Youth Awards


the 15th Annual Brower Youth Awards!

The 15th annual Brower Youth Awards were a huge success thanks to the support of our attendees, partners and donors. Thank you to all who celebrated our 15th anniversary with us!
Stay updated on this year’s six winners and their projects by visiting their profile pages.




Winners in 2014


Doorae Shin

Honolulu, HI

Working towards a ban on Styrofoam use in Hawai‘i

Read more


Jackson Koeppel

Highland Park, MI

Building community resilience through solar powered infrastructure

Read more


Lynnea Shuck

Fremont, CA

Propelling childhood curiosity into lasting environmental stewardship

Read more


Sean Russell

North Port, FL

Launching an educational campaign about marine debris

Read more


Tiffany Carey

Detroit, MI

Engaging youth in solutions-based, citizen-science projects

Read more


Tsechu Dolma

Woodside, NY

Creating a model for sustainable food security in Upper Mustang, Nepal

Read more

Our supporters

Planet hero sponsor:

Join us as a sponsor

The New Leaders Initiative proudly features businesses that are making a positive social impact. We want to share your terrific work with our community of supporters at our biggest event of the year. Our Sponsorship Packet highlights the different levels and benefits of sponsorship opportunities with the Brower Youth Awards.

Sponsorship Visibility

By sponsoring the Brower Youth Awards, you will be joining a dynamic cohort of businesses such as Clif Bar, Klean Kanteen, Nutiva, and Visa. We offer sponsor advertising in our quarterly award-winningEarth Island Journal as well as through our social media platforms reaching more than 400,000+ individuals and organizations.

Are you interested in additional sponsorship benefits? Would your company like to support our year-round programming, or sponsor other New Leaders Initiative programs and events? Do you have an idea you would like to share with us? Let’s talk!

We are committed to partnering with you and developing a relationship that supports your company’s business and visibility goals. Contact Kevin Connelly, Earth Island Institute’s Associate Director, at or 510-859-9155 to discuss ideas and opportunities.

Selection Committee

BB Amsterdam

Barbara Brower

Barbara Brower is a Professor of Geography at Portland State University and is the daughter of David Brower. Her research interests include biogeography, cultural ecology, Nepal, the western United States, mountains, wildland resource conservation and policy, and the environmental movement.

Dave Karpf

Dave Karpf

Dave Karpf is an assistant professor in the George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs. He studies online political activism, and is the award-winning author of The MoveOn Effect: The Unexpected Transformation of American Political Advocacy (Oxford University Press, 2012). Dave was one of the first winners of the Brower Youth Award, in 2000, for his volunteer work as National Director and Trainings of the Sierra Student Coalition. He also spent six years on the Sierra Club Board of Directors (2004-2010). Dave blogs at and tweets at @davekarpf.

Farzana Serang

Farzana Sergang

Born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, Farzana Serang is proud to be the first Executive Director at the Cooperative Food Empowerment Directive (CoFED). CoFED works with future food co-op leaders across North America to support them with trainings and tools, and to connect them to peer, mentors, and allies in a solidarity network to start and strengthen cooperatively-run food businesses with young people on more than 40 college campus communities. Farzana brings a diverse set of skills and advocacy expertise rooted in 10 years of cultivating and managing strategic cross-sector relationships, coalitions, and partnerships. She has used her leadership development experience in the community college, private, and nonprofit sectors to strengthen the impact of triple bottom line initiatives that provide equitable benefit for people, the planet, and the economy. She is humbled daily by the power and passion of youth to make our world a better a place.

Jacqui Patterson

Jacqueline Patterson

Jacqueline Patterson is the Director of the NAACP Environmental and Climate Justice Program. Since 2007 Patterson has served as coordinator & co-founder of Women of Color United. Jacqui Patterson has worked as a researcher, program manager, coordinator, advocate and activist working on women‘s rights, violence against women, HIV&AIDS, racial justice, economic justice, and environmental and climate justice.

Kate Sheppard

Kate Sheppard

Kate Sheppard is a senior reporter and the environment and energy editor at the Huffington Post. She previously reported for Mother Jones, Grist, and the American Prospect. Her writing has also been featured in the New York Times’ Room for Debate blog, the Guardian, Foreign Policy, High Country News, The Center for Public Integrity and In These Times. Her reporting has been recognized with awards from the Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ), the Online News Association, and Planned Parenthood. She is a board member for SEJ.


Sandra Steingraber

Biologist, author, and cancer survivor, Sandra Steingraber, Ph.D. writes about climate change, ecology, and the links between human health and the environment. Steingraber’s highly acclaimed book, Living Downstream: An Ecologist’s Personal Investigation of Cancer and the Environment was the first to bring together data on toxic releases with data from U.S. cancer registries and was adapted for the screen in 2010. As both book and documentary film, Living Downstream has won praise from international media. A contributing essayist and editor for Orion magazine, Sandra Steingraber is currently a Distinguished Scholar in Residence at Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York.