Brower Youth Awards

Thank you for celebrating youth leadership and environmental innovation with us at the 17th Annual Brower Youth Awards! 2017 Awardees will be announced in September 2017. We’ll be posting information shortly on how you can make our programs in 2017 a continued success!


Winners in 2017

Anne Lee

Sammamish, WA

In late 2016, following the November elections, Anne Lee and a cohort of students in Sammamish, WA realized that the i...

Read more

Anthony Torres

Babylon, NY

As a community organizer in Washington, DC, Anthony Torres brings together thousands of volunteers to put pressure on ...

Read more

Charlie Jiang

Washington D.C.

After studying engineering at Stanford University, where he organized for fossil fuel divestment and environmental justice on campus, Charlie Jiang moved to Washington, DC and became a founding mem...

Read more

Dejah Powell

Chicago, IL

Last year, Dejah Powell founded Get Them to the Green (G2G), an organization that aims to foster love for the environment among Chicago y...

Read more

Dineen O’Rourke

East Quogue, NY

Dineen works with SustainUs, a youth-led organization that has been advancing the participation of young people at major United Nations conferences for 20 years. This year, she is leading a youth d...

Read more

Mercedes Thompson and Claire Wayner

Baltimore, MD

In 2016, Claire Wayner and Mercedes Thompson co-founded Baltimore Beyond Plastic, a youth-led, action-oriented organization that aims to reduce plastic pollution in Baltimore. Wayn...

Read more

The premier visibility and partnership opportunity for Green Businesses and Impact Philanthropists committed to the next generation of environmental champions!

The New Leaders Initiative proudly features businesses that are making a positive social impact. We want to share your terrific work with our community of supporters at our biggest event of the year. Learn more about how to get involved.


Our supporters


Selection Committee

Barbara Brower

Barbara Brower is a Professor of Geography at Portland State University and is the daughter of David Brower. Her research interests include biogeography, cultural ecology, Nepal, the western United States, mountains, wildland resource conservation and policy, and the environmental movement.

Carla Din

Carla Din is the Director of Program Development for the John Muir Land Trust, where she develops innovative policy, program and funding strategies to bring maximum value to open space preservation in Contra Costa County. Over the past 20 years, she has effectively advanced environmental protection and sustainability through the development of state and local renewable energy policy; engagement in shareholder campaigns to save Headwaters Forest’s ancient redwoods; and by leading clean energy partnerships with multi-stakeholder coalitions at the intersection of the environment and the economy. Carla holds a B.A. from U.C. Berkeley and a Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Washington. She is a former recipient of the Senator Byron Sher Environmental Leadership Award from the California League of Conservation Voters.

Keya Chatterjee

Keya Chatterjee is Executive Director of USCAN, and author of the book The Zero Footprint Baby: How to Save the Planet While Raising a Healthy Baby. Her work focuses on building an inclusive movement in support of climate action. Keya recently appeared in the documentary ‘Disruption,’ promoting the People’s Climate March. Prior to joining USCAN, Keya served as Senior Director for Renewable Energy and Footprint Outreach at the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), where she worked for eight years. She currently serves on the board of the Washington Area Bicycling Association.

Pier Lafarge

Pier Lafarge is an experienced entrepreneur and changemaker. At ICF International, he co-founded a new ICF service offering focused on energy efficiency finance strategy. Pier also has experience in financial analysis, working on a major evaluation of loan financing modalities employed by the World Bank under its Climate Investment Fund program. In 2010, he founded Race to Replace, a statewide clean energy focused voter registration campaign in Vermont in partnership with League of Conservation Voters.