Brower Youth Awards

Winners in 2019

Isha Clarke

Oakland, CA

Fighting the development of a coal plant in West Oakland

Read more

Isra Hirsi

Minneapolis, MN

Leading a nationwide climate strike

Read more

Lia Harel

Minnetonka, MN

Organizing a youth environmental movement in Minnesota

Read more

Mackenzie Feldman

Honolulu, HI

Working to ban pesticides in schools

Read more

Shannon Lisa

Avenel, NJ

Investigating chemicals that lead to cancer

Read more

Tammy Ramos

Los Angeles, CA

Challenging oil refinery pollution in a low income community

Read more

Our supporters

Interested in being a Sponsor? Email for more information.

Selection Committee

Barbara Brower

Barbara received her Ph.D. in Geography from the University of California, Berkeley. The daughter of Anne and David Brower, she serves on Earth Island Institute’s Board of Directors. She is a Professor of Geography for Portland State University, where she has been a part of the Department of Geography for 23 years. Her research interests include cultural ecology, mountain geography, and wildland resource conservation and policy in Nepal and the western United States. Dr. Brower’s current work, The Urban Coyote Project, seeks to encourage young learners while making sense of the urban coyotes in Portland, Oregon.

Danny Thiemann

Danny is an Associate Attorney with Earthjustice’s International Program, the largest non-profit environmental law organization in the U.S. Before joining Earthjustice, he worked for four years as a staff attorney for migrant and seasonal farmworkers at the Oregon Law Center where he represented nearly 200 individuals with administrative challenges and lawsuits and was lead counsel on two class actions for wage theft affecting nearly 1,000 workers. Danny has also partnered with Intel and Boeing to co-design devices that would collect data on ergonomic stresses for cannery workers along the Pacific coast and heat stress for workers picking in the fields.

De’Anthony Jones

De’Anthony, a 2010 BYA recipient, serves as a Neighborhood Services Liaison with the Mayor’s Office of Neighborhood Services under the Mayor of San Francisco, London Breed. He was born and raised in the Western Addition neighborhood in San Francisco, CA, where his interest in public service was sparked by his grandmother bringing him along to meetings about issues affecting the community. In his early teens, De’Anthony served as Chair of the SF Youth Commission while simultaneously building a culture of sustainability on his high school campus supplemented with groundbreaking environmental justice initiatives and programs. He graduated from Sacramento State University and has interned for numerous elected officials, including Mayors London Breed (while Supervisor) and Ed Lee, and former State Senator Mark Leno.

Dena Montague

Dena is the Co-Founder of ÉnergieRich, an emerging social justice engineering firm. She is also a Research Associate with the Global Environmental Justice Project at UC Santa Barbara where she uses statistical data analysis to assess inequality in the U.S., France, and West Africa. She earned her PhD in Political Science from UCLA.

Gino Pastori-Ng

Gino was born and raised in Oakland, California, where he is the co-founder and co-director of Youth Impact Hub Oakland, an intergenerational community of support for underserved youth social entrepreneurs creating an equitable local economy.  He has supported the funding and launch of over 80 youth-led social enterprise projects.

Jessica Tovar

Jessica has worked for 17 years as an environmental justice, climate and health organizer in a variety of urban, rural, and indigenous communities throughout California and Arizona. She has battled and won campaigns against the PG&E Hunterspoint Power Plant in San Francisco, Chevron Refinery dirty crude expansion in Richmond and various other polluting facilities. She currently organizes for “Clean Power to the People,” as the coordinator for the East Bay Clean Power Alliance who are winning local clean energy solutions through Alameda County’s Community Choice energy program–East Bay Community Energy.